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«This policy rescinds and supersedes any previous Board policy.

Purpose:

The purpose of this policy is to authorize the Washington State Board of Accountancy’s
(Board) Executive Director to resolve certain violations through a Remedial Resolution
resulting in an administrative process of voluntary settlements without Board approval.

Authority and Delegation:

The Board delegates to the Executive Director the authority to administer Remedial
Resolutions. The Board does not intend these guidelines to be mandatory; nor does the
Board wish to exclude or limit other sanctions or considerations in other disciplinary action.

Guiding Principles:

These guidelines will be used when the Executive Director has sufficient evidence of an
administrative violation. These guidelines only apply to first time administrative violations;
repeat or non-administrative violations shall be subject to the Board’s formal disciplinary
process. At any time, the respondent may refuse the Remedial Resolution and request a
formal hearing before the Board in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act RCW
34.05.

A Remedial Resolution is an informal settlement between the Executive Director on behalf
of the Board and the respondent and must be signed by both parties. As part of the
Remedial Resolution, the Executive Director may include cost recovery. All terms must be
satisfied within 90 days of service unless otherwise specified. Failure to comply with the
terms may result in commencement of formal disciplinary action.

Administrative Violation: Remedial Resolution terms:
1. Use of a restricted title with a e $500 fine
lapsed license/certificate. e Obtain a license or cease use of title
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2. - | Failure to obtain a firm license by
a firm required to do so.

$750 fine ($1,500 if attest services were
offered to or performed for a client in
Washington State)

Compietion of Board approved
Washington State Ethics course

3. Use of title(s} in violation of RCW $1,500 fine
18.04.345(5) by an un-
credentialed individual.

4, Failure to provide records in $1,500 fine
compliance with WAC 4-30-051, Completion of Board approved
so long as the failure does not Washington State Ethics course
result in client financial harm.

5. Failure to timely inform the Board $750 fine
of matters in compliance with Completion of Board approved
WAC 4-30-030, or to respond to Washington State Ethics course
a request for administrative :
information or documentation.

6. CPE deficiencies up to 60 CPE $250 fine for failure to complete the

hours in total, including
Washington ethics, may be
addressed through Remedial
Resolution.

CPE deficiencies exceeding 60
CPE hours in total, including
Washington ethics, will result in
disciplinary action.

required CPE in ethics and regulations
in Washington State ("Washington
ethics”)

$150 fine for deficiencies up to and
including 16 CPE credit hours, not
including Washington ethics

$100 additional fine for deficiencies over
16 hours but not exceeding 60 hours,
not including Washington ethics
Completion of qualifying course(s) to
satisfy the CPE deficiency. The
course(s) shall be applied to the
deficient period, and may not be
recounted in another period |
fnclusion in the next CPE audit

Non-Administrative Violations:

Misconduct that is not listed above are acts that the Board finds too significant to be

handled through a Remedial Resolution. The Executive Director may open an investigation

into the alleged conduct. Board Policy 2017-1 provides guidance on the Board's

investigative and disciplinary process.
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